Setting the Scene – The Police Station

Posted: February 20, 2012 in Setting the Scene
Tags: , , , ,

Chapters 5 and 6 look pretty bland on the colour palette.  That’s not to say they aren’t exciting, but it isn’t a very inviting place.  Damien finds himself being questioned at the local police station in Hillview.  The set was not as simple as it looked, because while Chapter 5 you may only see a tiny little blank interview room, around it I had created the whole station – which should hopefully be featured in later upcoming chapters, so hopefully it wasn’t an entire waste!  I was very proud with what I eventually came up with, so I thought I would share with you some photos of the whole lot.

It is 2 floors, although admittedly I haven’t done anything with the second floor just yet, but it will have a small tea room surrounded by many indivual offices… and well, anything else I can come up with.  The station was inspired by the one seen in Australia’s police drama, Rush.  It is depicted in greys and it’s a very kind of dull-looking place to be, which is evened out by the extra excitement of day to day activities.  Although you may see a few of the rooms on the show, it was all very much guesswork , especially the floor layout.  The sign was a recolour of MogHughson’s Illuminated Shop Sign, and the 1-wall column logo thing were both modelled off the police stations we have over here.  I seem to have misplaced my original reference picture, but here’s another for the wall.  So that was a really simple wallpaper to recolour, and is only intended to be 1-wall length.

Front entrance (apparently I need to do something about the neighbouring hill O_o) with red poppies and decorative park spaces.

Side/workers entrance (which is really the front, hence vehicles can enter driveway.  This area has been left open because I couldn’t see cop’s opening and closing garage doors everytime they had to rush out, although this leaves your visitors wandering up hallways and ringing doorbells at the main work area.  There are two park spaces for drivable cars, the rest are model cars).

Gym/relax area

Briefing room

Lineup and viewing room

Interview room

Holding cells (as these are only meant as temporary means, individual cells do not contain toliets).

Main work/collaborative area with individual desks and one big work station (again inspired by Rush).

Overview

It’s not bad if I do say so myself… I tried and tried to fit everything in nicely and as logically as possible.  I couldn’t see suspects being dragged into cells or interview rooms that were on the second floor, and I really wanted a large open work area, along with the garage and… well, everything else.  It is my most expensive lot to date (that said, I haven’t really made all that many lots) and will consider making it available to download if there’s any interest. 🙂 Once again, wouldn’t be possible without all the lovely custom content available from Mod the Sims, etc.  Thank you!

Leave a Reply

